Three grants were approved by the WRCCF Board

Three grants were approved by the WRCCF Board Of directors at the recent meeting.

Request for the Wood River Elementary Second Grade to attend the Nebraska State Fair September 1, 2021 was approved. Since this trip was not possible in the fall of 2020 (Covid-19) second grade students, the grant for the third grade to attend the State Fair September was also approved.

These grants will allow the Second and Third grades in the fall of 2021 to participate in Nebraska’s Largest Classroom at the Nebraska State Fair. Students will learn about the state and be exposed to agriculture and livestock industries in the state.

The seed money for these grants originated from the Alice Dubbs Named Fund. Mrs. Dubbs was a long time WR Elementary Second Grade Teacher. A named fund was established in her memory to be used for the WR Elementary Second Grade class.

The third grant request was from WR Vision20/20Inc, dba Stick Creek Kids Child Development Center for funds for Edgerton on the Move (EOTM) portion of the summer camp.

Stick Creek Kids (SCK) will be hosting a STEM Camp for students entering grades Kindergarten through 6th who live in the Wood River Rural School District or have family attending SCK. Students will engage in many project-based experiences that will follow the engineering design process. Edgerton On the Move (EOTM) is a collection of science-related activities and demonstrations that the Edgerton Explorit Center (Aurora) that will be brought the center on the last day of STEM Camp.

The director of the STEM Camp will be Kim Canfield. Kim holds a Master’s Degree in STEM education and is currently a Robert Noyce Master Teaching Fellow in her 3rd year of a 5-year fellowship through the Nebraska STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Math) Program.

This grant was funded by the STEM named fund that was established to support STEM Programs. Again, this shows the power of coming together to establish a named fund for future needs of the Wood River area. The Board of Director’s acknowledges the designation of these gifts by these Donors for these grant requests.